FlipServer 使用领先的云提供商以便宜 30-40% 的价格提供更高的性能、可用性、灵活性和可靠性

在公共云上更好地运行 SAP

组织日常运营的成功执行在很大程度上取决于其 IT 基础架构的性能和可用性。正是出于这个原因,许多企业公司都希望提高其关键任务 SAP 应用程序的可用性和性能。波士顿的领先媒体公司就是一个例子,该组织能够通过将其内部部署 IT 基础设施迁移到领先的公共云来提高其 SAP 环境的可用性和性能。该公司为其他考虑迁移到云的组织提供了强有力的参考,以提高云平台可以提供的性能、可用性、灵活性和可靠性。

保持领先地位

马萨诸塞州一家领先的媒体和多媒体技术公司为娱乐行业提供屡获殊荣的工具和解决方案。多年来,他们的解决方案以两项奥斯卡奖、一项格莱美奖和多项艾美奖的形式为公司赢得了惊人的认可。

与几乎所有行业领先的组织一样,Avid 始终走在前沿。然而,为了继续在前沿运营,该公司需要更换其过时的 IT 基础设施。使用过时的基础设施运营导致该公司的关键任务 SAP 软件的性能和可用性不断下降。为了解决 SAP 应用程序实例的性能问题并消除停机问题,Media Firm 转向 FlipServe 寻求一个强大的云平台来运行他们的业务。

决定

自 1994 年以来,该公司一直在其关键任务流程中使用 SAP ERP。当该公司采取必要措施升级其 SAP 软件时,它发现其当前的 IT 基础架构无法支持其长期目标。这种认识加上停机时间、维护成本和其他挑战的增加,促使公司转向 FlipServe 以获得正确的云平台。

“我们遇到了影响我们业务运营的故障,”媒体公司的企业应用总监说。 “那是我们的转折点。我们有一个选择——购买新硬件并将 SAP 部署保留在内部,或者切换到 FlipServe 等可靠的云提供商,将我们的 ERP 环境迁移到更强大的现代数据中心。”

在转向 FlipServe 推荐的云之前,媒体公司 SAP 实例和其他企业应用程序运行在老化的硬件和 Oracle 数据库上。除了经历大量停机时间之外,该公司还面临着无法更新其关键业务 SAP 软件以及维护其内部部署解决方案的成本不断增加的问题。该公司认为,将其 SAP 环境迁移到 FlipServe 将为他们提供提高运行效率所需的性能、灵活性和成本节约。

成功移民的正确伙伴关系

该公司决定利用公司与 FlipServe 的合作伙伴关系,促进其 SAP 环境向推荐的多云平台的迁移。对于迁移的执行,领先的云提供商还建议 Media Firm 转向 FlipServe。在过去完成了多次云迁移之后,FlipServe 制定了清晰的路线图和改进的方法来简化这一关键技术计划。

云提供商的建议被接受了,但是,在将项目交给 FlipServe 之前,媒体公司对 FlipServe 和其他几家供应商进行了评估。 FlipServe 最终被选中而不是其他供应商,因为这家媒体公司认为 FlipServe 在公共云方面拥有最丰富的经验,并且拥有一支出色的专家团队,他们曾多次成功地将 SAP 迁移到公共云。

该公司确信 FlipServe 拥有将其 SAP 环境迁移到云、将其操作系统从 Linux 更改为 Windows 以及执行从 Oracle 到 SQL 的数据库转换的专业知识。 FlipServe 不仅让公司相信他们可以完成工作,而且还向客户保证所有这些活动都将在短时间内完成,以避免业务中断。

SAP 在公共云上的一种行之有效的方法:

FlipServe 全天候工作,以实现客户 SAP 环境向云的平稳迁移。与大多数迁移一样,每个客户都有需要解决的独特挑战。在客户的案例中,FlipServe 面临 3 个迁移挑战。首先是操作系统从 Linux 迁移到 Windows。第二个是 DB(数据库)从 Oracle 迁移到 SQL 服务器。第三个也是最后一个挑战是最大限度地减少客户 SAP 生产环境的迁移停机时间。

FlipServe 从概念迁移的证明开始,并获得了数据复制所需时间的初始基线。然后,该团队继续进行多次模拟运行,在其中执行流程优化、性能调整和数据存档,以最大程度地减少迁移停机时间。最终,Wharfedale 能够将迁移所需的时间进一步减少 55%。

通过大幅缩短迁移时间,FlipServe 为客户的业务提供了足够的时间在上线前执行应用程序验证。除了最短的停机时间迁移外,FlipServe 还为客户提供了以下关键可交付成果,作为其零美元停机解决方案的一部分:

实现 SAP on Cloud 的优势

  • SAP 高可用性的实施
  • 灾难恢复的实施
  • 托管 SAP 基础支持服务
  • 对关键任务和高优先级票证的快速支持
  • 实施主动 SAP 监控解决方案
  • 由资深 SAP Basis 顾问(在岸和离岸)组成的专门团队提供支持

成功迁移到 Azure 后,客户意识到以下好处:

  • 生产环境性能提升 50% 以上
  • FlipServe 云保证 99.95% 的正常运行时间
  • 加速服务器配置以帮助支持业务增长
  • 系统更新时间从几周缩短到几小时
  • 降低 SAP 环境的 TCO(总拥有成本)
  • 系统刷新请求的高效交付

任务完成

客户迁移到 FlipServe 推荐的公共云,它极大地改进了他们的 SAP 环境,提高了业务敏捷性,并实现了运营成本节约。然而,实现这些目标需要 FlipServe 的 SAP on Cloud 迁移专家方法。 “我们注意到迁移后的整体性能显着提高,尤其是在数据库转换方面”,总监说。 “SQL Server 数据库速度更快,响应时间更短。”

总的来说,这个项目对所有参与方来说都是一个巨大的胜利。客户正在体验在公共云上运行其 SAP 环境的好处,以及 FlipServe 和云提供商,还有另一个客户成功案例。

FlipServer provides increased performance, availability, flexibility, reliability using leading cloud providers at 30-40% cheaper

Running SAP better on Public Cloud’s

The successful execution of an organization’s day to day operations depends heavily on the performance and availability of its IT infrastructure. It is for this reason that many enterprise companies are looking to increase the availability and performance of their mission-critical SAP applications. Leading Media Company out of Boston is an example of an organization that was able to improve the availability and performance of its SAP landscape by moving its on-premise IT infrastructure to leading Public cloud. The company serves as a strong reference for other organizations considering a move to cloud for the increased performance, availability, flexibility, reliability the cloud platform can provide.

Staying on the Cutting Edge

A leading Media & Multimedia Technology Company out of Massachusetts provides award winning tools and solutions for the entertainment industry. Over the years, their solutions have earned the company amazing recognition in the form of two Oscars, a Grammy, and multiple Emmys.

As with nearly every industry leading organization, Avid operates on the cutting edge. To continue operating on the cutting edge however, the company needed to replace its outdated IT infrastructure. Operating with outdated infrastructure caused the company to experience a continual decrease in the performance and availability of its mission-critical SAP software. To address the performance of their SAP Application instances and eliminate its issues with downtime, Media Firm turned to FlipServe for a robust cloud platform to run their business.

The Decision

The company has been using SAP ERP for its mission critical processes since 1994. As the company took the necessary steps to execute the upgrade of its SAP software, it found that its current IT infrastructure could not support its long-term ambitions. This realization coupled with increasing downtime occurrences, maintenance costs, and other challenges motivated the firm to turn to FlipServe for the right Cloud Platform.

“We had a failure that impacted our business operations,”says the Director, Enterprise Applications at the Media Firm. “That was our turning point. We had a choice---buy new hardware and keep the SAP deployments in-house or switch to a reliable cloud provider like FlipServe and move our ERP landscape to a more robust, modern datacenter.”

Prior to the move to FlipServe recommended cloud, the media firm SAP instances and other enterprise applications were running on aging hardware and Oracle database. In addition to experiencing a great deal of downtime, the company was dealing with the inability to update its business-critical SAP software and the increasing costs of maintaining its on-premise solution. The firm felt that moving its SAP landscape to FlipServe would provide them with the improved performance, flexibility, and cost savings they needed to run more efficiently.

The Right Partnership for a Successful Migration

The firm decided to leverage the company’s partnership with FlipServe to facilitate the migration of their SAP landscape to their recommended multi-cloud platform. For the execution of the migration, the leading cloud provider also recommended that Media Firm turn to FlipServe. Having completed many Cloud migrations in the past, FlipServe had a clear roadmap and a refined approach to streamline this critical technology initiative.

Cloud provider recommendation was accepted, however, before handing FlipServe the project, Media Firm evaluated FlipServe and several other vendors. FlipServe was ultimately selected over the other vendors because the media firm felt that FlipServe had the most experience on public cloud and a great team of experts with the track record of completing many successful SAP migrations to public cloud.

The firm was convinced that FlipServe had the expertise to migrate its SAP landscape to cloud, change its operating system from Linux to Windows and perform a database conversion from Oracle to SQL. FlipServe not only convinced the firm that they could get the job done, they also assured customer that all these activities would be accomplished ina short window to avoid business disruption.

A Proven Approach for SAP on Public Cloud:

FlipServe worked around the clock to deliver a smooth migration of customer SAP landscape to cloud. As with most migrations, every customer has unique challenges that need to be worked through. In customer’s case, FlipServe faced 3 migration challenges. The first was the OS migration from Linux to Windows. The second was DB (database) migration from Oracle to SQL server. The third and final challenge was minimizing the migration downtime of customer’s SAP production landscape.

FlipServe started with a proof of concept migration and obtained the initial baseline of the time required for data replication. The team then continued with multiple mock runs in which it performed process optimization, performance tuning, and data archival to minimize the migration downtime. Ultimately Wharfedale was able to further reduce the time required for migration by 55%.

By drastically cutting the migration time, FlipServe gave customer’s business adequate time to perform application validation before go-live. In addition to a minimal downtime migration FlipServe also provided customer with these key deliverables as part of its Zero Dollar Down solution:

Realizing the Benefits of SAP on Cloud

  • Implementation of SAP High Availability
  • Implementation of Disaster Recovery
  • Managed SAP Basis support services
  • Rapid support for critical tasks and high priority tickets
  • Implementation of proactive SAP monitoring solution
  • Support from a dedicated team of senior SAP Basis consultants (onshore and offshore)

After the successful execution of the migration to Azure, customer realized the following benefits:

  • Improved performance of production environment by over 50%
  • FlipServe cloud guaranteed 99.95% uptime
  • Accelerated server provisioning to help support business growth
  • System refresh timeline reduced from weeks to hours
  • Reduced TCO (Total Cost of Ownership) for SAP Landscape
  • Efficient delivery for system refresh requests

Mission Accomplished

The customer move to FlipServe recommended Public Cloud and it has delivered huge improvements intheir SAP environment, promoted business agility, and enabled operational cost savings. Achieving these objectives, however, required FlipServe’s expert approach to SAP on Cloud migrations. “We noted a significant overall performance improvement after the migration, especially in the database conversion” says, Director. “The SQL Server database is much faster and offers better response time.”

This project overall was a big win for all parties involved. Customer is experiencing the benefits of running its SAP landscape on public cloud and both FlipServe and Cloud Provider, have yet another customer success story.

Tell us about your requirements.

Schedule a discovery call with one of our experts to discuss your cloud transformation requirements.

Let's Talk!