FlipServer 使用领先的云提供商以便宜 30-40% 的价格提供更高的性能、可用性、灵活性和可靠性

灾难恢复 (DR) 和业务连续性

随着停机时间导致声誉受损、贸易损失和生产力损失,组织开始意识到连续性规划和灾难恢复是成功的关键。业务连续性需要适当规划、测试和审查才能成功。对于大多数企业来说,灾难恢复规划会带来更多的问题而不是开始时的答案,但现在努力工作将在未来省去很多痛苦。

确定风险偏好

所有企业在风险方面都是不同的。有些人可能将勒索软件攻击视为轻微的不便,在重建系统时在纸上运行一周来解决,而其他人则认为任何形式的停机时间都是不可接受的。

您组织的个人风险偏好将对您如何规划和准备业务连续性产生重大影响。您需要考虑您的行业、规模和对停机时间的态度,以及成本和资源。评估这种风险偏好可以让您判断在哪里分配资源,并集中您的优先事项。

计划,计划和计划更多

为了正确规划灾难恢复,考虑业务连续性事件的所有方面及其影响以及如何减轻这些影响至关重要。

例如,如果组织总部停电,固定电话也会停电,但手机仍可使用。减轻这种影响的一种方法是将办公室电话号码重新路由到另一个办公室或总部的移动电话。为此,您需要考虑将有关如何执行此操作的信息存储在何处,以及谁知道它在哪里。

这只是一个例子。您需要考虑所有风险,以及您使用的所有技术和流程。考虑计划、风险、解决方案以及您需要投资和加强计划的地方,以确保您的企业在发生灾难时仍能正常运作。

构建块并严格测试

理想情况下,IT 解决方案将分块构建和测试,因此您可以以功能方式考虑风险和解决方案。

然后需要在可能的情况下以严格的方式测试每个计划。例如,如果一台特定的机器出现故障怎么办?如果电源中断会怎样?在加密病毒的情况下会发生什么?你有备份吗?他们在现场吗?如果系统出现故障,您是否有故障转移设置?第二个系统是在现场还是在完全不同的地理位置?我和我的员工怎么办——他们可以在家工作吗?有足够的笔记本电脑吗?

这些将排除和验证(或不验证)在业务连续性事件期间进行管理的假设。例如,如果您的公司感染了加密病毒并感染了主服务器,它也会复制到您的其他站点,因此您唯一的选择是从备份中恢复或拥有允许您滚动的技术解决方案回到病毒被释放之前。

云不是唯一的答案

认为云可以解决所有问题可能很诱人,但情况并非总是如此。云中的数据不会自动备份,也不一定会复制到第二个站点。这些是一些公共云服务的选项,但因此它们通常很昂贵且未得到充分利用。

尽管是基于云的,公司的应用程序环境仍然可能感染病毒并被破坏。如果您尚未部署 IT 系统来备份该数据,那么它就会丢失。例如,如果云出现故障,您需要考虑故障转移系统。

有趣的是,公共云不会经常宕机,但一旦宕机,就不可能告诉你它会停止运行多久。因此,企业必须考虑在这种情况下何时调用灾难恢复。

了解您的核心系统

一些公司采用的一种解决方案是在他们了解和信任的基础设施上运行核心系统和存储。这意味着知道它在哪里以及它是什么,因此它符合他们的性能标准。企业还考虑如何备份这个系统,包括它插入的网络,确保它有一个无线路由器作为备用,故障转移系统至少在 50 英里外的独立 IP 提供商,复制经过测试,数据保护技术有效并经过测试。

这使企业能够更好地了解和控制业务连续性事件(例如停电)。企业可以获得有关中断时间长度的直接反馈,这意味着他们具有更好的可见性和做出正确决策的能力。

计划和优先排序

在制定计划时,您需要考虑风险和目标。一种有用的技术方法是考虑它如何帮助减轻这些风险并帮助您实现目标。在考虑预算时,您可以花费的金额没有上限,而是专注于您的优先事项,然后让董事会签署。

花一天时间集思广益是一种很好的方式,可以确定您的组织最关心什么以及如果出现问题会产生最不利的影响。毋庸置疑,需要优先考虑具有高影响风险的事物。就任何业务连续性计划的执行者而言,俗话说,不要把鸡蛋放在一个篮子里——涉及很多人,因此确保不止一个人接受业务连续性计划的培训将大大减轻任何影响事件。

FlipServe DRaaS 的优势

在过去几年中,灾难恢复即服务已经成为一种越来越流行的方法,用于备份重要数据和应用程序,以及为辅助基础设施提供即时系统故障转移。虽然该技术仍然相对先进,但众多 DRaaS 优势继续引起人们的兴趣。

“随着越来越多的 IT 以服务的形式提供,灾难恢复应该成为这些服务中的又一项是有道理的,”地理空间情报中心灾难响应主管 Richard Butgereit 说。但符合即服务模式并不是灾难恢复即服务 (DRaaS) 获得关注的唯一原因。

  • 速度
    DRaaS 提供比传统 DR 方法更快、自动化和更可靠的恢复操作。“DRaaS 解决方案利用数据复制技术以及自动化和协调的恢复,提供积极的恢复点目标和恢复时间目标,”副总裁 Joseph George 说Sungard Availability Services 全球恢复服务产品管理总裁。 “许多利用公共云的新一代 DRaaS 解决方案提供了更高的灵活性,并提供基于使用的成本模型,让您只需为实际使用的资源付费。”
  • 更低的成本和更高的可靠性
    更具说服力的 DRaaS 优势之一是降低成本的潜力。许多传统上在内部执行的 IT 服务现在以即服务产品的形式提供。 DRaaS 将基础设施即服务、平台即服务和软件即服务结合在一起,作为传统技术的流行云替代方案。 DRaaS 提供比传统 DR 方法更快、自动化和更可靠的恢复操作。 “这些基于云的服务本身继承了高可用性和灾难恢复功能,”SAP 国家安全服务部副总裁兼首席信息安全官 Ted Wagner 说。任何试图自行处理 DR 的组织都将面临额外成本,并且必须投资于基础设施和资本支出。

FlipServe Inc. 数据保护平台战略高级副总裁 Praveen Gadura 表示:“庞大的前期成本和高额的每月账单使许多客户无法从 DR 服务中受益。DRaaS 已成为整体数据保护产品组合的下一个重大飞跃,而且许多备份公司现在都提供 DRaaS 作为对基于云的备份的补充。”

  • 改进管理
    使用 DRaaS 降低了 IT 的管理负担,让团队成员腾出时间来处理可提供更大业务价值的任务。 FlipServe 云专家总监 John 表示:“DR 很少被视为为业务提供重要价值,因此,公司不愿意花费金钱和时间来运行全面的 DR 计划。” “通过使用 DRaaS,您不再需要提交这些资源,而且很可能,DRaaS 的成本将低于您自己管理和维护解决方案所需的成本。”
  • 无缝冗余和可扩展性
    DRaaS 的主要好处之一是安心,因为通常没有任何松散的结局需要追逐或担心。 “您的数据存储在多个地方——不再出现单点故障,”中小型企业托管 IT 服务提供商 Saalex Solutions 的 IT 主管 David Stills 说。 “由于 DRaaS 是在一个虚拟平台上,它可以根据需要增长或缩小。” DRaaS 不仅为所有关键业务信息系统提供经济高效的冗余,而且还支持常规验证测试。

FlipServe 公共云 IaaS 通过用按需云资源替换备用硬件来简化和加速 DR 过程并降低成本。如果主托管站点出现故障,灾难恢复即服务 (DRaaS) 系统会通过启动必要的云基础架构、安装应用程序映像以及附加数据库和卷来自动启动应用程序。

之后,当主站点重新上线时,DRaaS 软件会同步远程位置的数据,触发主站点应用程序的重启,并停用辅助云站点的虚拟基础架构。

自动售货机

AWS 在 2019 年收购 CloudEndure 时填补了其产品组合中的一个漏洞,其产品现在包括 AWS 基于云的灾难恢复和工作负载迁移产品。 CloudEndure DR 代理可以将工作负载从本地或其他 IaaS 环境复制到 AWS 或 AWS 区域之间。它提供:

  • 连续数据复制;
  • 一个低成本的工作负载暂存区,仅使用足够的 AWS 计算和存储资源来支持数据复制;
  • 从本机格式到支持的 AWS 实例和映像的自动机器转换;
  • 支持流行的企业软件、操作系统和云环境,包括 Azure、GCP、IBM Cloud、Oracle Cloud、OpenStack 和 VMware;
  • 时间点恢复,即恢复到最新的应用程序状态或某个先前时间的能力;和
  • 无中断 DR 测试。

天蓝色

与亚马逊类似,微软通过收购来支持其 DRaaS 产品。但是,早在 2014 年,它就具有远见,当时它将业务连续性技术从 InMage 合并到 Azure Site Recovery 中。

管理员可以从在 Azure Stack 或其他虚拟化平台上运行的本地系统复制应用程序。 Site Recovery 还可以在 Azure 云区域之间进行复制,甚至可以从 AWS Windows 实例复制到 Azure。与 CloudEndure 一样,它支持在恢复事件期间按需创建 VM 实例、无中断 DR 测试以及针对恢复点目标和恢复时间目标的自定义目标。

Site Recovery 还支持自定义恢复计划和 Runbook,这些计划和 Runbook 可以将 Azure 自动化或 PowerShell 脚本用于复杂的场景。这些可用作 Site Recovery 计划的一部分,该计划定义了机器故障转移和重新启动以适应具有许多依赖项的应用程序的顺序。

谷歌云 (GCP)

Google Cloud 不提供打包的 DRaaS。相反,它提供了有关基于云的灾难恢复计划以及如何将 GCP 服务用作 DR 平台的文档。除了 IaaS 产品之外,Google 的文档还侧重于各种自动化工具,以在从外部环境复制和故障转移时消除手动 DR 流程。对 DIY DR 过程有用的 GCP 服务包括:

  • 用于应用程序监控、指标和事件的云监控和云状态仪表板;
  • Cloud Deployment Manager 从预定义的模板自动创建 GCP 环境;和
  • 支持 GCP 的第三方基础架构模板和配置管理软件,例如 Ansible、Chef 和 Terraform。

GCP 合作伙伴目录还列出了几家在 GCP 基础架构之上提供 DRaaS 或 DR 托管服务的公司。

FlipServer provides increased performance, availability, flexibility, reliability using leading cloud providers at 30-40% cheaper

Disaster Recovery (DR) and Business Continuity

With downtime leading to reputational damage, lost trade and productivity loss, organisations are starting to realise continuity planning and disaster recovery are critical to success. Business continuity needs to be properly planned, tested and reviewed in order to be successful. For most businesses, planning for disaster recovery will raise more questions than answers to begin with, but doing the hard work now will save a lot of pain in the future.

Ascertain the appetite for risk

All businesses are different when it comes to risk. While some may view a ransomware attack as a minor inconvenience, dealt with by running on paper for a week while they rebuild systems, whereas others view any sort of downtime as unacceptable.

The individual risk appetite of your organisation will have a significant impact on how you plan and prepare for business continuity. You will need to consider your sector, size, and attitude towards downtime, verses cost and resources. Assessing this risk appetite will let you judge where to allocate resources, and focus your priorities.

Plan, plan and plan some more

To properly plan for disaster recovery, it is critical to consider all aspects of a business continuity event, together with the impact of it, and how to mitigate these.

For example, if power goes down in the organisation’s headquarters, so will the landline phones, but mobiles will still be functional. A way to mitigate this impact would be to reroute the office phone number to another office or a mobile at headquarters. To do that you need to consider where you store the information about how to do that, and who knows where it is.

This is just one example. You need to consider all the risks, and all the technology and processes that you use. Consider the plan, the risk, the solution and where you need to invest and strengthen your plan to ensure your business can still function in the event of a disaster.

Build in blocks and test rigorously

Ideally IT solutions will be built and tested in blocks, so you can consider the risks and solutions in a functional way.

Plans for each then need to be tested in a rigorous way with likely scenarios. What if, for example, a particular machine fails? What happens if the power supply cuts out? What happens in the case of a crypto virus? Do you have back-ups? Are they on site? Do you have a failover set-up in case of system failure? Is the second system on site or in a completely different geography? What do I with my staff – can they work from home? Are there enough laptops?

These will drive out and validate (or not) assumptions on managing during a business continuity event. For example if your company is infected with a crypto virus and has infected the main servers, it will also have replicated across to your other sites, therefore your only option is to restore from back-ups or have a technology solution that allows you to roll back before the virus was unleashed.

Cloud is not the only answer

It can be tempting to think cloud can solve all the problems, but that is not always the case. Data in the cloud is not automatically backed up and is not necessarily replicated to a second site. These are options on some public cloud services, but they are often expensive and under used, as a result.

Despite being cloud-based, a company’s application environment can still get a virus and become corrupted. If you have not put the IT systems in place to back that data up, then it will be lost. If for example, the cloud goes down, you need to consider a failover system.

The interesting part of this is the public cloud doesn’t go down very often, but when it does it is impossible to tell you how long it will be out of action for. Businesses must therefore consider when to invoke disaster recover in that instance.

Know your core systems

One solution that some companies adopt is running core systems and storage on infrastructure that they know and trust. This means knowing where it is and what it is, so it meets their performance criteria. Businesses also consider how this system is backed up including what network it is plugged into, ensuring it has a wireless router as standby, that the failover system is at least 50 miles away on a separate IP provider, that the replication is tested and that the data protection technology works and is tested.

This gives business much better knowledge and control in a business continuity event such as a power outage. Businesses can get direct feedback about the length of outage meaning they have better visibility and ability to make the right decisions.

Plan and prioritise

When making a plan you need to consider the risks and your objectives. A useful approach towards technology can be to consider how it can help mitigate these risks and help you meet your objectives. When considering budget, there is no upper limit to what you can spend, instead focus on your priorities and then have the board sign them off.

Spending a day brainstorming is a good way of working out what concerns your organisation the most and what will have the most detrimental impact should it go wrong. Needless to say, something that has a high risk of impact needs to be prioritised. In terms of the executor of any business continuity plan, as the saying goes, don’t put your eggs in one basket – involving numerous people and hence ensuring more than one person is trained in the business continuity plan will significantly mitigate the impact of any event.

FlipServe DRaaS benefits

Disaster recovery as a service has emerged over the past several years as an increasingly popular method for backing up vital data and applications, as well as for providing immediate system failover to a secondary infrastructure. While the technology is still relatively , numerous DRaaS benefits continue to draw interest.

"As more and more IT is provided as a service, it simply makes sense that disaster recovery should become yet another of those services," said Richard Butgereit, director of catastrophe response at the Geospatial Intelligence Center. But conforming to the as-a-service model is not the only reason disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) is gaining traction.

  • Speed
    DRaaS provides a much faster, automated and more reliable recovery operation than traditional DR approaches."DRaaS solutions leverage data replication technologies, as well as automated and orchestrated recovery, to provide aggressive recovery point objectives and recovery time objectives," said Joseph George, vice president of product management for global recovery services at Sungard Availability Services. "Many of the newer generation DRaaS solutions that leverage the public cloud provide increased flexibility and offer a usage-based cost model that allows you to pay only for the resources you actually use."
  • Lower cost and enhanced reliability
    One of the more persuasive DRaaS benefits out there is the potential for lower costs. Many IT services traditionally performed on premises are now available in the form of as-a-service offerings. DRaaS joins infrastructure as a service, platform as a service and software as a service as a popular cloud alternative to a traditional technology. DRaaS provides a much faster, automated and more reliable recovery operation than traditional DR approaches. "These cloud-based services inherit high availability and disaster recovery capabilities natively," said Ted Wagner, vice president and chief information security officer for SAP National Security Services. Any organization attempting to handle DR on its own will face additional costs and will have to invest in infrastructure and capital expenses.

"Large upfront costs and high monthly bills have kept many customers from benefiting from DR services," said Praveen Gadura, Senior Vice President of data protection platform strategy at FlipServe Inc. "DRaaS has emerged as the next major leap in the overall data protection portfolio, and many backup companies are now offering DRaaS as a complement to cloud-based backup."

  • Improved administration
    Using DRaaS lowers the administrative burden placed on IT and frees up team members to handle tasks that provide greater business value. "DR is seldom seen as providing significant value to the business and, thus, companies are reluctant to spend money and time on running a comprehensive DR program," said John, director of cloud specialist at FlipServe. "By engaging with DRaaS, you no longer need to commit those resources and, in all likelihood, the cost of DRaaS will be less than what you would pay to manage and maintain a solution yourself."
  • Seamless redundancy and scalability
    One of the major DRaaS benefits is peace of mind, as there are generally no loose ends to chase or worry about. "Your data is stored in multiple places -- no more single point of failure," said David Stills, director of IT at Saalex Solutions, a managed IT services provider for small- to medium-sized businesses. "Since DRaaS is on a virtual platform, it can grow or shrink on demand." DRaaS not only provides cost-effective redundancy for all critical business information systems, but it also enables routine validation testing.

FlipServe public cloud IaaS simplifies and accelerates the DR process and cuts costs by replacing standby hardware with on-demand cloud resources. If the primary hosting site fails, disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) systems automatically launch applications by initiating the necessary cloud infrastructure, installing application images, and attaching databases and volumes.

Later, when a primary site comes back online, the DRaaS software synchronizes data from the remote location, triggers a restart of applications at the primary site and decommissions virtual infrastructure at the secondary cloud site.

AWS

AWS filled a hole in its portfolio when it acquired CloudEndure in 2019, whose products now comprise AWS' cloud-based disaster recovery and workload migration offerings. CloudEndure DR agents can replicate workloads from on-premises or other IaaS environments to AWS or between AWS regions. It provides:

  • Continuous data replication;
  • A low-cost workload staging area using only enough AWS compute and storage resources to support data replication;
  • Automated machine conversion from the native format to a supported AWS instance and image;
  • Support for popular enterprise software, operating systems and cloud environments, including Azure, GCP, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud, OpenStack and VMware;
  • Point-in-time recovery, i.e., ability to recover to either the most current application state or some prior time; and
  • Non-disruptive DR testing.

AZURE

Similar to Amazon, Microsoft used an acquisition to bolster its DRaaS product. However, it had the foresight to do so back in 2014 when it folded business continuity technology from InMage into Azure Site Recovery.

Administrators can replicate applications from on-premises systems running on Azure Stack or another virtualization platform. Site Recovery can also replicate between Azure cloud regions or even from AWS Windows instances to Azure. Like CloudEndure, it supports on-demand creation of VM instances during recovery incidents, non-disruptive DR testing, and customized targets for recovery point objectives and recovery time objectives.

Site Recovery also supports customized recovery plans and runbooks that can use Azure Automation or PowerShell scripts for complex scenarios. These can be used as part of Site Recovery plans, which defines the sequence where machines fail over and restart to accommodate applications with many dependencies.

GOOGLE CLOUD (GCP)

Google Cloud does not offer a packaged DRaaS. Instead, it provides documentation on cloud-based disaster recovery planning and how to use GCP services as a DR platform. Aside from its IaaS products, Google's documentation focuses on various automation tools to eliminate manual DR processes when replicating and failing over from an external environment. GCP services useful to a DIY DR process include:

  • Cloud Monitoring and Cloud Status Dashboard for application monitoring, metrics and events;
  • Cloud Deployment Manager to automatically create GCP environments from predefined templates; and
  • Third-party infrastructure templating and configuration management software with GCP support such as Ansible, Chef and Terraform.

The GCP partner directory also lists several companies that provide DRaaS or DR managed services on top of GCP infrastructure.

Tell us about your requirements.

Schedule a discovery call with one of our experts to discuss your cloud transformation requirements.

Let's Talk!