يوفر FlipServer أداءً وتوافرًا ومرونة وموثوقية أعلى باستخدام موفري السحابة الرائدين بسعر أرخص بنسبة 30-40٪

التعافي من الكوارث (DR) واستمرارية الأعمال

نظرًا لأن فترة التوقف عن العمل تؤدي إلى الإضرار بالسمعة وخسارة التجارة وخسارة الإنتاجية ، فقد بدأت المؤسسات في إدراك أن التخطيط المستمر والتعافي من الكوارث أمران حاسمان للنجاح. يجب التخطيط لاستمرارية الأعمال بشكل صحيح واختبارها ومراجعتها حتى تكون ناجحة. بالنسبة لمعظم الشركات ، سيثير التخطيط للتعافي من الكوارث أسئلة أكثر من الإجابات للبدء بها ، ولكن القيام بالعمل الشاق الآن سيوفر الكثير من الألم في المستقبل.

تأكد من الرغبة في المخاطرة

جميع الأعمال التجارية مختلفة عندما يتعلق الأمر بالمخاطر. في حين أن البعض قد ينظر إلى هجوم برامج الفدية على أنه إزعاج بسيط ، يتم التعامل معه من خلال العمل على الورق لمدة أسبوع أثناء إعادة بناء الأنظمة ، بينما يرى البعض الآخر أن أي نوع من التوقف غير مقبول.

سيكون للإقبال على المخاطرة الفردية لمؤسستك تأثير كبير على كيفية التخطيط والاستعداد لاستمرارية الأعمال. سوف تحتاج إلى النظر في قطاعك وحجمك وموقفك تجاه التوقف والتكلفة والموارد. سيسمح لك تقييم الرغبة في المخاطرة بالحكم على مكان تخصيص الموارد والتركيز على أولوياتك.

التخطيط والتخطيط والتخطيط أكثر

للتخطيط الصحيح للتعافي من الكوارث ، من الضروري مراعاة جميع جوانب حدث استمرارية الأعمال ، جنبًا إلى جنب مع تأثيره ، وكيفية التخفيف من ذلك.

على سبيل المثال ، إذا انقطعت الطاقة في المقر الرئيسي للمنظمة ، فإن الهواتف الأرضية ستظل تعمل. تتمثل إحدى طرق التخفيف من هذا التأثير في إعادة توجيه رقم هاتف المكتب إلى مكتب آخر أو هاتف محمول في المقر الرئيسي. للقيام بذلك ، عليك التفكير في مكان تخزين المعلومات حول كيفية القيام بذلك ، ومن يعرف مكانها.

هذا مثال واحد فقط. أنت بحاجة إلى النظر في جميع المخاطر ، وجميع التقنيات والعمليات التي تستخدمها. ضع في اعتبارك الخطة والمخاطر والحل وأين تحتاج إلى الاستثمار وتقوية خطتك لضمان استمرار عملك في حالة وقوع كارثة.

قم ببناء الكتل واختبارها بدقة

من الناحية المثالية ، سيتم إنشاء حلول تكنولوجيا المعلومات واختبارها في مجموعات ، حتى تتمكن من النظر في المخاطر والحلول بطريقة وظيفية.

يجب اختبار خطط كل منها بطريقة صارمة مع السيناريوهات المحتملة. ماذا لو ، على سبيل المثال ، فشل جهاز معين؟ ماذا يحدث إذا انقطع التيار الكهربائي؟ ماذا يحدث في حالة وجود فيروس تشفير؟ هل لديك نسخ احتياطية؟ هل هم في الموقع؟ هل لديك إعداد تجاوز الفشل في حالة فشل النظام؟ هل النظام الثاني موجود في الموقع أم في منطقة جغرافية مختلفة تمامًا؟ ماذا أفعل مع موظفيي - هل يمكنهم العمل من المنزل؟ هل هناك أجهزة كمبيوتر محمولة كافية؟

سيؤدي ذلك إلى الخروج والتحقق من صحة (أو عدم) الافتراضات المتعلقة بالإدارة أثناء حدث استمرارية العمل. على سبيل المثال ، إذا كانت شركتك مصابة بفيروس تشفير وأصابت الخوادم الرئيسية ، فسيتم أيضًا نسخها عبر مواقعك الأخرى ، وبالتالي فإن خيارك الوحيد هو الاستعادة من النسخ الاحتياطية أو الحصول على حل تقني يسمح لك بالتدوير مرة أخرى قبل إطلاق العنان للفيروس.

السحابة ليست الجواب الوحيد

قد يكون من المغري التفكير في قدرة السحابة على حل جميع المشكلات ، ولكن هذا ليس هو الحال دائمًا. لا يتم نسخ البيانات الموجودة في السحابة احتياطيًا تلقائيًا ولا يتم بالضرورة نسخها إلى موقع ثانٍ. هذه خيارات في بعض الخدمات السحابية العامة ، لكنها غالبًا ما تكون باهظة الثمن وقليلة الاستخدام نتيجة لذلك.

على الرغم من كونها قائمة على السحابة ، لا يزال من الممكن أن تتعرض بيئة تطبيقات الشركة للفيروس وتتلف إذا لم تضع أنظمة تكنولوجيا المعلومات في مكانها لدعم تلك البيانات ، فستضيع. إذا تعطلت السحابة على سبيل المثال ، فأنت بحاجة إلى التفكير في نظام تجاوز الفشل.

الجزء المثير للاهتمام من هذا هو أن السحابة العامة لا تتعطل كثيرًا ، ولكن عندما يحدث ذلك ، من المستحيل إخبارك بالوقت الذي ستظل فيه معطلة. لذلك يجب على الشركات النظر في الوقت المناسب لاستدعاء التعافي من الكوارث في تلك الحالة.

تعرف على الأنظمة الأساسية الخاصة بك

أحد الحلول التي تتبناها بعض الشركات هو تشغيل الأنظمة الأساسية والتخزين على البنية التحتية التي يعرفونها ويثقون بها. هذا يعني معرفة مكانه وما هو ، بحيث يلبي معايير الأداء الخاصة بهم. تنظر الشركات أيضًا في كيفية نسخ هذا النظام احتياطيًا بما في ذلك الشبكة التي تم توصيلها بها ، والتأكد من أن لديها جهاز توجيه لاسلكي كاحتياطي ، وأن نظام تجاوز الفشل على بعد 50 ميلاً على الأقل على مزود IP منفصل ، وأن النسخ المتماثل يتم اختباره وأن تعمل تقنية حماية البيانات ويتم اختبارها.

يمنح هذا العمل معرفة وتحكمًا أفضل بكثير في حدث استمرارية الأعمال مثل انقطاع التيار الكهربائي. يمكن للشركات الحصول على تعليقات مباشرة حول طول فترة الانقطاع ، مما يعني أن لديها رؤية أفضل وقدرة على اتخاذ القرارات الصحيحة.

التخطيط وتحديد الأولويات

عند وضع خطة تحتاج إلى النظر في المخاطر وأهدافك. يمكن أن يكون النهج المفيد تجاه التكنولوجيا هو التفكير في كيفية المساعدة في التخفيف من هذه المخاطر ومساعدتك على تحقيق أهدافك. عند التفكير في الميزانية ، لا يوجد حد أعلى لما يمكنك إنفاقه ، وبدلاً من ذلك ركز على أولوياتك ثم اطلب من مجلس الإدارة التوقيع عليها.

يعد قضاء يوم في العصف الذهني طريقة جيدة لمعرفة ما يهم مؤسستك أكثر وما سيكون له التأثير الأكثر ضررًا في حالة حدوث خطأ. وغني عن القول ، إن الشيء الذي ينطوي على مخاطر عالية للتأثير يحتاج إلى إعطاء الأولوية. فيما يتعلق بمنفذ أي خطة لاستمرارية العمل ، كما يقول المثل ، لا تضع بيضك في سلة واحدة - إشراك العديد من الأشخاص ، وبالتالي فإن ضمان تدريب أكثر من شخص في خطة استمرارية الأعمال سيخفف بشكل كبير من تأثير أي منها حدث.

فوائد FlipServe DRaaS

برز التعافي من الكوارث كخدمة على مدى السنوات العديدة الماضية كطريقة شائعة بشكل متزايد لنسخ البيانات والتطبيقات الحيوية احتياطيًا ، فضلاً عن توفير تجاوز فوري للنظام إلى بنية تحتية ثانوية. في حين أن التكنولوجيا لا تزال نسبيًا ، إلا أن العديد من مزايا DRaaS تواصل جذب الاهتمام.

قال ريتشارد بوتجريت ، مدير الاستجابة للكوارث في مركز الاستخبارات الجغرافية المكانية: "مع توفير المزيد والمزيد من تكنولوجيا المعلومات كخدمة ، فمن المنطقي ببساطة أن يصبح التعافي من الكوارث إحدى تلك الخدمات". لكن التوافق مع نموذج كخدمة ليس السبب الوحيد الذي يجعل التعافي من الكوارث كخدمة (DRaaS) يكتسب قوة دفع.

  • سرعة
    يوفر DRaaS عملية استرداد أسرع وأتمتة وموثوقية أكثر من أساليب DR التقليدية. قال جوزيف جورج ، نائب نائب. رئيس إدارة المنتجات لخدمات الاسترداد العالمية في Sungard Availability Services. "توفر العديد من حلول DRaaS الأحدث التي تستفيد من السحابة العامة مزيدًا من المرونة وتوفر نموذج تكلفة يعتمد على الاستخدام يسمح لك بالدفع فقط مقابل الموارد التي تستخدمها بالفعل."
  • تكلفة أقل وموثوقية محسّنة
    تتمثل إحدى مزايا DRaaS الأكثر إقناعًا في إمكانية خفض التكاليف. تتوفر الآن العديد من خدمات تكنولوجيا المعلومات التي يتم إجراؤها تقليديًا في أماكن العمل في شكل عروض كخدمة. تنضم DRaaS إلى البنية التحتية كخدمة ومنصة كخدمة وبرنامج كخدمة كبديل سحابي شائع لتقنية تقليدية. يوفر DRaaS عملية استرداد أسرع وآلية وموثوقية أكثر من أساليب DR التقليدية. قال تيد واجنر ، نائب الرئيس والمسؤول الرئيسي لأمن المعلومات في SAP National Security Services: "ترث هذه الخدمات المستندة إلى السحابة إمكانات التوفر العالية والتعافي من الكوارث محليًا". أي منظمة تحاول التعامل مع DR بمفردها ستواجه تكاليف إضافية وسيتعين عليها الاستثمار في البنية التحتية والنفقات الرأسمالية.

قال برافين جادورا ، نائب الرئيس الأول لاستراتيجية منصة حماية البيانات في FlipServe Inc.: "لقد أدت التكاليف الأولية الكبيرة والفواتير الشهرية المرتفعة إلى منع العديد من العملاء من الاستفادة من خدمات DR". ، والعديد من شركات النسخ الاحتياطي تقدم الآن DRaaS كمكمل للنسخ الاحتياطي المستند إلى السحابة. "

  • تحسين الإدارة
    يؤدي استخدام DRaaS إلى تقليل العبء الإداري الواقع على كاهل تكنولوجيا المعلومات ، كما يحرر أعضاء الفريق للتعامل مع المهام التي توفر قيمة أكبر للأعمال. قال جون ، مدير متخصص السحابة في FlipServe: "نادرًا ما يُنظر إلى DR على أنه يقدم قيمة كبيرة للأعمال ، وبالتالي ، تحجم الشركات عن إنفاق المال والوقت على تشغيل برنامج DR شامل". "من خلال التعامل مع DRaaS ، لم تعد بحاجة إلى تخصيص هذه الموارد ، وفي جميع الاحتمالات ، ستكون تكلفة DRaaS أقل مما ستدفعه لإدارة الحل وصيانته بنفسك."
  • التكرار السلس وقابلية التوسع
    تتمثل إحدى مزايا DRaaS الرئيسية في راحة البال ، حيث لا توجد عمومًا نهايات فضفاضة للمطاردة أو القلق بشأنها. قال ديفيد ستيلز ، مدير تكنولوجيا المعلومات في Saalex Solutions ، وهو مزود خدمات تكنولوجيا المعلومات المدارة للشركات الصغيرة والمتوسطة الحجم: "يتم تخزين بياناتك في أماكن متعددة - لا توجد نقطة فشل واحدة بعد الآن". "نظرًا لأن DRaaS موجود على منصة افتراضية ، فإنه يمكن أن ينمو أو يتقلص حسب الطلب." لا يوفر DRaaS فقط تكرارًا فعالاً من حيث التكلفة لجميع أنظمة معلومات الأعمال المهمة ، ولكنه يتيح أيضًا اختبار التحقق الروتيني.

يبسط تطبيق FlipServe العام للسحابة IaaS عملية DR ويسرعها ويخفض التكاليف عن طريق استبدال الأجهزة الاحتياطية بموارد السحابة عند الطلب. في حالة فشل موقع الاستضافة الأساسي ، تقوم أنظمة التعافي من الكوارث كخدمة (DRaaS) بتشغيل التطبيقات تلقائيًا عن طريق بدء البنية التحتية السحابية الضرورية وتثبيت صور التطبيق وإرفاق قواعد البيانات ووحدات التخزين.

في وقت لاحق ، عندما يعود موقع رئيسي إلى الإنترنت ، يقوم برنامج DRaaS بمزامنة البيانات من الموقع البعيد ، ويبدأ إعادة تشغيل التطبيقات في الموقع الأساسي ويفكك البنية التحتية الافتراضية في موقع السحابة الثانوية.

AWS

قامت AWS بسد فجوة في محفظتها عندما استحوذت على CloudEndure في عام 2019 ، والتي تضم منتجاتها الآن عروض AWS للتعافي من الكوارث وترحيل عبء العمل المستندة إلى السحابة يمكن لوكلاء CloudEndure DR نسخ أعباء العمل من بيئات IaaS المحلية أو بيئات IaaS الأخرى إلى AWS أو بين مناطق AWS. انها توفر، انه يوفر:

  • تكرار البيانات بشكل مستمر ؛
  • منطقة التدريج لأعباء العمل منخفضة التكلفة باستخدام موارد تخزين وتخزين كافية من AWS لدعم تكرار البيانات ؛
  • التحويل الآلي للماكينة من التنسيق الأصلي إلى مثيل وصورة AWS مدعومين ؛
  • دعم برامج المؤسسات وأنظمة التشغيل والبيئات السحابية الشائعة ، بما في ذلك Azure و GCP و IBM Cloud و Oracle Cloud و OpenStack و VMware ؛
  • الاسترداد في الوقت المناسب ، أي القدرة على الاستعادة إما إلى حالة التطبيق الأحدث أو في وقت سابق ؛ و
  • اختبار DR غير المعطل.

أزور

على غرار Amazon ، استخدمت Microsoft عملية استحواذ لتعزيز منتجها DRaaS. ومع ذلك ، كان لديها البصيرة للقيام بذلك مرة أخرى في عام 2014 عندما طويت تقنية استمرارية الأعمال من InMage إلى Azure Site Recovery.

يمكن للمسؤولين نسخ التطبيقات من الأنظمة المحلية التي تعمل على Azure Stack أو نظام افتراضي آخر. يمكن أيضًا لاسترداد الموقع إجراء النسخ المتماثل بين مناطق سحابة Azure أو حتى من مثيلات AWS Windows إلى Azure. مثل CloudEndure ، يدعم إنشاء مثيلات الأجهزة الافتراضية عند الطلب أثناء حوادث الاسترداد ، واختبار DR غير المعطل ، والأهداف المخصصة لأهداف نقطة الاسترداد وأهداف وقت الاسترداد.

يدعم استرداد الموقع أيضًا خطط الاسترداد المخصصة وكتب التشغيل التي يمكنها استخدام Azure Automation أو PowerShell النصية للسيناريوهات المعقدة. يمكن استخدام هذه كجزء من خطط استرداد الموقع ، والتي تحدد التسلسل الذي تفشل فيه الأجهزة وإعادة تشغيلها لاستيعاب التطبيقات التي تحتوي على العديد من التبعيات.

GOOGLE CLOUD (GCP)

لا تقدم Google Cloud DRaaS معبأة. بدلاً من ذلك ، يوفر وثائق حول تخطيط التعافي من الكوارث المستند إلى السحابة وكيفية استخدام خدمات GCP كنظام أساسي لـ DR بصرف النظر عن منتجات IaaS ، تركز وثائق Google على أدوات الأتمتة المختلفة للتخلص من عمليات DR اليدوية عند التكرار والفشل من بيئة خارجية. تشمل خدمات GCP المفيدة لعملية DIY DR:

  • المراقبة السحابية و Cloud Status Dashboard لمراقبة التطبيقات والمقاييس والأحداث ؛
  • Cloud Deployment Manager لإنشاء بيئات GCP تلقائيًا من قوالب محددة مسبقًا ؛ و
  • برامج إدارة التكوين وقوالب البنية التحتية التابعة لجهات خارجية مع دعم GCP مثل Ansible و Chef و Terraform.

يسرد دليل شركاء GCP أيضًا العديد من الشركات التي تقدم خدمات DRaaS أو DR المُدارة فوق البنية التحتية لـ GCP.

FlipServer provides increased performance, availability, flexibility, reliability using leading cloud providers at 30-40% cheaper

Disaster Recovery (DR) and Business Continuity

With downtime leading to reputational damage, lost trade and productivity loss, organisations are starting to realise continuity planning and disaster recovery are critical to success. Business continuity needs to be properly planned, tested and reviewed in order to be successful. For most businesses, planning for disaster recovery will raise more questions than answers to begin with, but doing the hard work now will save a lot of pain in the future.

Ascertain the appetite for risk

All businesses are different when it comes to risk. While some may view a ransomware attack as a minor inconvenience, dealt with by running on paper for a week while they rebuild systems, whereas others view any sort of downtime as unacceptable.

The individual risk appetite of your organisation will have a significant impact on how you plan and prepare for business continuity. You will need to consider your sector, size, and attitude towards downtime, verses cost and resources. Assessing this risk appetite will let you judge where to allocate resources, and focus your priorities.

Plan, plan and plan some more

To properly plan for disaster recovery, it is critical to consider all aspects of a business continuity event, together with the impact of it, and how to mitigate these.

For example, if power goes down in the organisation’s headquarters, so will the landline phones, but mobiles will still be functional. A way to mitigate this impact would be to reroute the office phone number to another office or a mobile at headquarters. To do that you need to consider where you store the information about how to do that, and who knows where it is.

This is just one example. You need to consider all the risks, and all the technology and processes that you use. Consider the plan, the risk, the solution and where you need to invest and strengthen your plan to ensure your business can still function in the event of a disaster.

Build in blocks and test rigorously

Ideally IT solutions will be built and tested in blocks, so you can consider the risks and solutions in a functional way.

Plans for each then need to be tested in a rigorous way with likely scenarios. What if, for example, a particular machine fails? What happens if the power supply cuts out? What happens in the case of a crypto virus? Do you have back-ups? Are they on site? Do you have a failover set-up in case of system failure? Is the second system on site or in a completely different geography? What do I with my staff – can they work from home? Are there enough laptops?

These will drive out and validate (or not) assumptions on managing during a business continuity event. For example if your company is infected with a crypto virus and has infected the main servers, it will also have replicated across to your other sites, therefore your only option is to restore from back-ups or have a technology solution that allows you to roll back before the virus was unleashed.

Cloud is not the only answer

It can be tempting to think cloud can solve all the problems, but that is not always the case. Data in the cloud is not automatically backed up and is not necessarily replicated to a second site. These are options on some public cloud services, but they are often expensive and under used, as a result.

Despite being cloud-based, a company’s application environment can still get a virus and become corrupted. If you have not put the IT systems in place to back that data up, then it will be lost. If for example, the cloud goes down, you need to consider a failover system.

The interesting part of this is the public cloud doesn’t go down very often, but when it does it is impossible to tell you how long it will be out of action for. Businesses must therefore consider when to invoke disaster recover in that instance.

Know your core systems

One solution that some companies adopt is running core systems and storage on infrastructure that they know and trust. This means knowing where it is and what it is, so it meets their performance criteria. Businesses also consider how this system is backed up including what network it is plugged into, ensuring it has a wireless router as standby, that the failover system is at least 50 miles away on a separate IP provider, that the replication is tested and that the data protection technology works and is tested.

This gives business much better knowledge and control in a business continuity event such as a power outage. Businesses can get direct feedback about the length of outage meaning they have better visibility and ability to make the right decisions.

Plan and prioritise

When making a plan you need to consider the risks and your objectives. A useful approach towards technology can be to consider how it can help mitigate these risks and help you meet your objectives. When considering budget, there is no upper limit to what you can spend, instead focus on your priorities and then have the board sign them off.

Spending a day brainstorming is a good way of working out what concerns your organisation the most and what will have the most detrimental impact should it go wrong. Needless to say, something that has a high risk of impact needs to be prioritised. In terms of the executor of any business continuity plan, as the saying goes, don’t put your eggs in one basket – involving numerous people and hence ensuring more than one person is trained in the business continuity plan will significantly mitigate the impact of any event.

FlipServe DRaaS benefits

Disaster recovery as a service has emerged over the past several years as an increasingly popular method for backing up vital data and applications, as well as for providing immediate system failover to a secondary infrastructure. While the technology is still relatively , numerous DRaaS benefits continue to draw interest.

"As more and more IT is provided as a service, it simply makes sense that disaster recovery should become yet another of those services," said Richard Butgereit, director of catastrophe response at the Geospatial Intelligence Center. But conforming to the as-a-service model is not the only reason disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) is gaining traction.

  • Speed
    DRaaS provides a much faster, automated and more reliable recovery operation than traditional DR approaches."DRaaS solutions leverage data replication technologies, as well as automated and orchestrated recovery, to provide aggressive recovery point objectives and recovery time objectives," said Joseph George, vice president of product management for global recovery services at Sungard Availability Services. "Many of the newer generation DRaaS solutions that leverage the public cloud provide increased flexibility and offer a usage-based cost model that allows you to pay only for the resources you actually use."
  • Lower cost and enhanced reliability
    One of the more persuasive DRaaS benefits out there is the potential for lower costs. Many IT services traditionally performed on premises are now available in the form of as-a-service offerings. DRaaS joins infrastructure as a service, platform as a service and software as a service as a popular cloud alternative to a traditional technology. DRaaS provides a much faster, automated and more reliable recovery operation than traditional DR approaches. "These cloud-based services inherit high availability and disaster recovery capabilities natively," said Ted Wagner, vice president and chief information security officer for SAP National Security Services. Any organization attempting to handle DR on its own will face additional costs and will have to invest in infrastructure and capital expenses.

"Large upfront costs and high monthly bills have kept many customers from benefiting from DR services," said Praveen Gadura, Senior Vice President of data protection platform strategy at FlipServe Inc. "DRaaS has emerged as the next major leap in the overall data protection portfolio, and many backup companies are now offering DRaaS as a complement to cloud-based backup."

  • Improved administration
    Using DRaaS lowers the administrative burden placed on IT and frees up team members to handle tasks that provide greater business value. "DR is seldom seen as providing significant value to the business and, thus, companies are reluctant to spend money and time on running a comprehensive DR program," said John, director of cloud specialist at FlipServe. "By engaging with DRaaS, you no longer need to commit those resources and, in all likelihood, the cost of DRaaS will be less than what you would pay to manage and maintain a solution yourself."
  • Seamless redundancy and scalability
    One of the major DRaaS benefits is peace of mind, as there are generally no loose ends to chase or worry about. "Your data is stored in multiple places -- no more single point of failure," said David Stills, director of IT at Saalex Solutions, a managed IT services provider for small- to medium-sized businesses. "Since DRaaS is on a virtual platform, it can grow or shrink on demand." DRaaS not only provides cost-effective redundancy for all critical business information systems, but it also enables routine validation testing.

FlipServe public cloud IaaS simplifies and accelerates the DR process and cuts costs by replacing standby hardware with on-demand cloud resources. If the primary hosting site fails, disaster recovery as a service (DRaaS) systems automatically launch applications by initiating the necessary cloud infrastructure, installing application images, and attaching databases and volumes.

Later, when a primary site comes back online, the DRaaS software synchronizes data from the remote location, triggers a restart of applications at the primary site and decommissions virtual infrastructure at the secondary cloud site.

AWS

AWS filled a hole in its portfolio when it acquired CloudEndure in 2019, whose products now comprise AWS' cloud-based disaster recovery and workload migration offerings. CloudEndure DR agents can replicate workloads from on-premises or other IaaS environments to AWS or between AWS regions. It provides:

  • Continuous data replication;
  • A low-cost workload staging area using only enough AWS compute and storage resources to support data replication;
  • Automated machine conversion from the native format to a supported AWS instance and image;
  • Support for popular enterprise software, operating systems and cloud environments, including Azure, GCP, IBM Cloud, Oracle Cloud, OpenStack and VMware;
  • Point-in-time recovery, i.e., ability to recover to either the most current application state or some prior time; and
  • Non-disruptive DR testing.

AZURE

Similar to Amazon, Microsoft used an acquisition to bolster its DRaaS product. However, it had the foresight to do so back in 2014 when it folded business continuity technology from InMage into Azure Site Recovery.

Administrators can replicate applications from on-premises systems running on Azure Stack or another virtualization platform. Site Recovery can also replicate between Azure cloud regions or even from AWS Windows instances to Azure. Like CloudEndure, it supports on-demand creation of VM instances during recovery incidents, non-disruptive DR testing, and customized targets for recovery point objectives and recovery time objectives.

Site Recovery also supports customized recovery plans and runbooks that can use Azure Automation or PowerShell scripts for complex scenarios. These can be used as part of Site Recovery plans, which defines the sequence where machines fail over and restart to accommodate applications with many dependencies.

GOOGLE CLOUD (GCP)

Google Cloud does not offer a packaged DRaaS. Instead, it provides documentation on cloud-based disaster recovery planning and how to use GCP services as a DR platform. Aside from its IaaS products, Google's documentation focuses on various automation tools to eliminate manual DR processes when replicating and failing over from an external environment. GCP services useful to a DIY DR process include:

  • Cloud Monitoring and Cloud Status Dashboard for application monitoring, metrics and events;
  • Cloud Deployment Manager to automatically create GCP environments from predefined templates; and
  • Third-party infrastructure templating and configuration management software with GCP support such as Ansible, Chef and Terraform.

The GCP partner directory also lists several companies that provide DRaaS or DR managed services on top of GCP infrastructure.

Tell us about your requirements.

Schedule a discovery call with one of our experts to discuss your cloud transformation requirements.

Let's Talk!