All Roads Lead to Cloud

FlipServe 零美元降价服务将帮助您将 SAP 环境迁移到云端,无需任何前期成本。

条条大路通云:在 Azure 上整合 SAP 工作负载

应用工作负载整合是许多 IT 主管的首要任务。这是有充分理由的。应用程序工作负载整合为组织提供了降低运营成本、优化业务流程、提高生产力并最终保持竞争力的机会。就 SAP 工作负载托管在三个不同位置(两个托管供应商和一个内部部署位置)的全球矿业公司而言,整合其 SAP 工作负载是提高其关键任务 SAP 应用程序的性能和可用性的必要步骤。

云路线图

对于这家全球矿业公司而言,在三个地点托管 SAP 工作负载所带来的挑战不仅是增加的运营成本和需要管理的资源。首先,该公司的大部分系统都由一家托管供应商管理,该供应商的硬件已经过时,而且其大部分操作系统和数据库都在支持结束时。对于这家主要的托管供应商,该公司会定期面临生产停机和计划外系统中断。该公司还受到其主要托管供应商无法跟上操作系统和应用程序修补(由于硬件限制)的限制。此外,客户不得不忍受该供应商系统更新过程的持续时间(需要几天到一周才能完成),这进一步阻碍了他们的生产力。

为了彻底改变采矿业,为人们和社区创造可持续的未来,该公司在 2019 年制定了非常明确的路线图,以实现 IT 基础设施现代化,并在 2020 年之前将关键 SAP 工作负载从三个不同的数据中心整合到公共云。迁移是托管数据中心退出截止日期(2020 年底)。通过将其关键的 SAP 工作负载整合到云中,该公司将提高灵活性和可扩展性,而不会长时间中断业务服务,降低软件许可和维护成本,降低运营成本,并提高其 SAP 系统的性能。然而,要实现这些优势,公司必须为其 SAP 工作负载选择合适的云平台,并选择经验丰富的合作伙伴来执行迁移。

选择理想的云服务提供商

该公司决定利用与 Microsoft 的合作伙伴关系实施 SAP 云转型计划。由于迁移到 Microsoft Azure 的风险很大,矿业公司需要一个值得信赖的合作伙伴来指导他们完成整个过程。微软推荐他们在 Azure 上的长期 SAP 合作伙伴 Wharfedale Technologies 来协助这个数字化转型项目。在过去完成了许多 Azure 迁移之后,Wharfedale 制定了清晰的路线图和改进的方法来简化这一关键技术计划。

在授予 FlipServe 项目之前,矿业公司对 FlipServe 和其他几家供应商进行了评估。 FlipServe 最终被选中而不是其他供应商,因为该公司认为 FlipServe 在 Azure 上拥有最丰富的经验,并且拥有一支优秀的专家团队,他们成功完成了许多 SAP 迁移到 Azure 以及 SAP 基础和基础设施托管服务的成功记录。由于 FlipServe 的零美元首付订阅模式,FlipServe 也被证明是最具成本效益的选择。 Zero Dollar Down Subscription Model 是一个捆绑包,其中包括 FlipServe 的 SAP 云迁移产品和托管服务。有了它,这家全球矿业公司可以将其 SAP 系统无缝迁移到 Azure,无需任何前期成本。

FlipServe 的经验加上零美元降价订阅模式的技术和商业价值极大地影响了矿业公司的决策。该公司相信,Wharfedale 将是正确的合作伙伴,可以指导他们应对从三个不同托管位置整合其 SAP 工作负载所带来的迁移挑战。这家矿业公司也对 Wharfedale 能够以最小的业务中断做到这一点充满信心。

路上的颠簸

FlipServe 使用其 74 因素 SAP 转型方法论来帮助公司促进其 SAP 环境无缝迁移到 Azure。与所有迁移一样,FlipServe 的团队在此过程中遇到了一些挑战。最初提议的迁移方法是使用 Azure Site Recovery (ASR) 工具进行数据复制的按原样迁移。最初获得批准;但是,托管供应商不允许在要迁移的服务器上安装 ASR 代理。这种停工花费了项目团队已经进行的工作的时间和资源。 FlipServe 和 Microsoft 与客户一起克服了这一障碍,并确定了在此类限制下进行迁移的其他方法。

凭借多年帮助客户迁移到云的经验,FlipServe 已开发出经过验证的迁移方法和专业知识,以克服挑战,例如对仍由现有托管供应商管理的服务器的访问受限。高级 OS/DB 迁移专家开发了四种迁移方法,用于从 Linux/DB2、Windows/SQL 和 Linux/SAP HANA 等不同 OS/DB 环境中的服务器复制数据。还执行了操作系统和数据库升级以确保 Azure 的可支持性。

另一个挑战是确保所需的最佳带宽量,以确保最短的停机时间迁移。将应用程序迁移到云的组织通常会低估促进无缝云迁移所需的带宽,该客户也是如此。

为了最大限度地减少迁移停机时间,FlipServe 进行了两次模拟运行,其中执行了流程优化、性能调整和数据存档。在最后的模拟运行期间,Wharfedale 提前迁移了一些非事务性生产系统,以减少生产切换期间的开销。通过这些措施,FlipServe 能够在 48 小时的停机时间内将 80 多台服务器迁移到 Azure。

在 Azure 上实现 SAP 的优势

根据矿业公司的现代化计划,目标是将公司在三个不同位置运行的 SAP 工作负载整合到公共云中。 Microsoft Azure 是公司选择的公共云平台,FlipServe 负责执行迁移。尽管在项目期间出现了独特的挑战,Wharfedale 还是能够将 80 台服务器迁移到 Azure,同时对矿业公司的业务影响最小。通过将公司的 SAP 工作负载整合到 Azure 中,他们实现了以下优势:

  • 改进的性能(生产响应时间最多缩短 48%)
  • Azure 保证 99.9% 的正常运行时间。
  • 在数小时内提供服务器以帮助支持业务增长。
  • 使用 Azure 存储快照技术和自动化使用 Microsoft PowerShell 和 SAP 脚本,系统刷新时间从一周缩短到一天。
  • 提高关键 SAP 环境的高可用性。
  • 显着减少了计划外停机时间。
  • 利用 Microsoft Azure 混合使用权益 (HUB) 并降低了 SAP 环境的许可成本。
  • Azure 云仪表板上的 SAP。 Wharfedale 托管服务的独特功能之一是交互式实时仪表板,用于在成本、性能和用户体验方面监控您的 SAP 环境。仪表板包括交互式图表和过滤器,提供了一种衡量业务影响、诊断问题和迅速做出决策的简单方法。

FlipServe Inc. 首席技术官 Mahesh Reddy 表示:“成功的 SAP 云迁移需要战略规划和方法,使组织能够在障碍出现时跨越障碍。我们团队的专业知识与我们的最佳实践方法相结合,使我们能够成功将 SAP DB2 工作负载迁移到 Azure,同时将业务中断降至最低,从而使客户能够提高在 Azure 中运行 SAP 的效率。”

作为一家雄心勃勃地改革行业的公司,这家全球矿业公司明白,它只能在 IT 基础设施允许的范围内走得更远。在 Azure 上整合其 SAP 工作负载是提高公司增长能力的第一步。凭借 Azure 一流的云基础架构和安全性以及来自 FlipServe 的持续支持,该公司已经奠定了以更高的效率、可用性和灵活性运营所需的基础。

All Roads Lead to Cloud

FlipServe Zero Dollar Down Service will help  migrate  your SAP Landscape to the cloud at no upfront costs.

All Roads Lead to Cloud: Consolidating SAP Workloads on Azure

Application workload consolidation is a top priority for many IT executives. And it is for good reason. Application workload consolidation presents the opportunity for organizations to lower operational costs, optimize business processes, increase productivity, and ultimately remain competitive. In the case of a global mining company with SAP workloads hosted in three different locations (two hosting vendors and an on-premise location), consolidating its SAP workloads was a necessary step towards improving the performance and availability of its mission critical SAP application.

The Cloud Roadmap

For the global mining company, the increased operational costs and resources to manage were not the only challenges that came with hosting its SAP workloads in three locations. For starters, a majority of the company’s systems were managed by one hosting vendor with outdated hardware and most of its operating systems and databases at end of support. With this primary hosting vendor, the company faced production downtime and unplanned system outages periodically. The company was also limited by its primary hosting vendor’s inability to keep up with OS and application patching (as a result of the hardware limitation). In addition, the customer had to endure the long duration of this vendor’s system refresh process (took several days to a week to accomplish) which further hindered their productivity.

With a vision to revolutionize mining for a sustainable future for people and communities, the company had a very clear roadmap initiated in 2019 to modernize its IT infrastructure and consolidate critical SAP workloads from three different data centers to public cloud by 2020. Another driver for the migration was the hosting data center exit deadline (end of 2020). By consolidating its critical SAP workloads to the cloud, the company would increase flexibility and scalability without prolonged service interruptions to the business, reduce software licensing and maintenance costs, lower operational costs, and improv the performance of its SAP systems. To realize these benefits, however, it was imperative that the company selected the right cloud platform for its SAP workloads and an experienced partner to execute the migration.

Selecting the Ideal Cloud Service Provider

The company decided to leverage its partnership with Microsoft for its SAP cloud transformation initiative. With so much at stake for the migration to Microsoft Azure, the mining company needed a trusted partner to guide them through the process. Microsoft recommended their longtime SAP on Azure partner, Wharfedale Technologies, to assist with this digital transformation project. Having completed many Azure migrations in the past, Wharfedale had a clear roadmap and a refined approach to streamline this critical technology initiative.

Before awarding FlipServe the project, the mining company evaluated FlipServe and several other vendors. FlipServe was ultimately selected over the other vendors because the company felt that FlipServe had the most experience on Azure and a great team of experts with the track record of completing many successful SAP migrations to Azure along with SAP Basis and Infrastructure Managed services. FlipServe also proved to be the most cost-effective option due to FlipServe’s Zero Dollar Down Subscription Model. The Zero Dollar Down Subscription Model is a bundled package that includes FlipServe’s SAP cloud migration offering and managed services. With it, the global mining company could seamlessly migrate its SAP systems to Azure with no upfront costs.

FlipServe’s experience coupled with the technical and business value of the Zero Dollar Down Subscription Model heavily influenced the mining company’s decision. The company was confident that Wharfedale would be the right partner to guide them through the migration challenges that would come with consolidating its SAP workloads from three different hosting locations. The mining company was also confident in Wharfedale’s ability to do it with minimal business disruption.

Bumps on the Road

FlipServe used its 74 factor SAP Transformation Methodology to help the company facilitate a seamless migration of its SAP landscape to Azure. As with all migrations, FlipServe’s team ran into some challenges along the way. The original proposed migration approach was AS IS migration using Azure Site Recovery (ASR) tool to facilitate data replication. It was approved initially; however, the hosting vendor did not allow installation of ASR agent on the servers to be migrated. This stoppage cost the project team time and resources for the work that had already been taken place. FlipServe and Microsoft worked together with the customer to overcome this obstacle and identify other methods to migrate under such restriction.

With years of experience in helping customers move to cloud, FlipServe has developed proven migration methodology and expertise to overcome challenges such as limited access to the servers that were still managed by the existing hosting vendor. Four migration approaches were developed by senior OS/DB migration experts to replicate data from the servers on different OS/DB environments such as Linux/DB2, Windows/SQL, and Linux/SAP HANA. Operating system and database upgrades were also performed to ensure supportability in Azure.

Another challenge was to secure the optimal amount of bandwidth needed to ensure a minimal downtime migration. Organizations migrating applications to the cloud often underestimate the bandwidth needed to facilitate a seamless cloud migration and this was also the case with this customer.

To minimize migration downtime, FlipServe conducted two mock runs in which it performed process optimization, performance tuning, and data archival. During the final mock run Wharfedale migrated some non-transactional production systems ahead to reduce overhead during production cutover. Through these measures, FlipServe was able to migrate over 80 servers to Azure under 48 hours of downtime.

Realizing the Benefits of SAP on Azure

Per the mining company’s modernization initiative, the objective was to consolidate the company’s SAP workloads - running in three different locations - into the public cloud. Microsoft Azure was the company’s public cloud platform of choice and FlipServe was tasked with executing the migration. Despite the unique challenges that rose up during the project, Wharfedale was able to migrate 80 servers to Azure with minimal disturbance to the mining company’s business. With the company’s SAP workloads consolidated in Azure, they realized the following benefits:

  • Improved performance (Up to 48% improvement in response time for Production)
  • Azure guaranteed 99.9% uptime.
  • Server provisioning within hours to help support business growth.
  • Systems Refreshes timeline reduced from one week to one day using Azure Storage Snapshot technology and automation using Microsoft PowerShell and SAP scripts.
  • Increased High Availability for Critical SAP Landscapes.
  • Reduced unplanned downtime significantly.
  • Utilized Microsoft Azure Hybrid Usage Benefit (HUB) and reduced the licensing cost for their SAP landscape.
  • SAP on Azure Cloud Dashboard. One of the unique features of Wharfedale’s Managed services is the Interactive live dashboard for monitoring your SAP landscape in terms of cost, performance, and user experience. The dashboard includes Interactive charts and filters provide an easy way to measure business impact, diagnose issues and make decisions swiftly.

“A successful SAP cloud migration requires strategic planning and an approach that enables an organization to leap past obstacles when they arise”, said Mahesh Reddy, CTO of FlipServe Inc. “The expertise of our team combined with our best practice methodologies allowed us to successfully migrate the SAP DB2 workloads to Azure with minimal interruption to business, allowing the customer to gain the efficiencies of running SAP in Azure.”

As a company with ambitions of revolutionizing its industry, the global mining company understood it could only go as far as its IT infrastructure allowed. Consolidating its SAP workloads on Azure was the first step towards increasing the company’s capacity for growth. With Azure’s best-in-class cloud infrastructure and security and ongoing support from FlipServe, the company has established the foundation it needs to operate with greater efficiency, availability, and flexibility going forward.

Tell us about your requirements.

Schedule a discovery call with one of our experts to discuss your cloud transformation requirements.

Let's Talk!